History- Department of Electrical Engineering

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria at its creation in 1962 inherited the Engineering program from the Nigeria College of Arts, Science, and Technology, Zaria. The program was re-organized to award degrees in Electrical, Mechanical and Civil Engineering under the auspices of the University of London from 1962 to 1965. Thus, the Faculty of Engineering was born along sides the Departments of Electrical, Mechanical and Civil Engineering and they became fully autonomous in 1965.
For many years after its establishment, the Department of Electrical Engineering, like other Departments in the Faculty, offered a 3–year Bachelor of Engineering degree program. With the adoption of the Student Work Experience Program (SWEP) and the Student Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES), it became imperative for the programs to be changed to 4–year degree programs by the 1981/82 session. By the 1991/92 session, the University adopted the Semester System and now all the degree programs in the Faculty are 5–year bachelor degree (B.Eng) programs.
During the 2010/11 session, the National Universities Commission, after a Resource Assessment exercise approved the change of name of the Department from Electrical Engineering to Electrical Engineering. They subsequently approved the splitting of the Department into the Departments of:

  1. Electrical Engineering

Out of a desire to properly position the Department of Electrical Engineering, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria for the challenge of graduate studies in the 21st century with a view to giving our graduates a competitive edge, the Department undertook a comprehensive review of its postgraduate programs leading to the award of PGD, M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in various fields of Electrical Engineering.